Media Inquiries

Ellen Berlin

Kristen Dattoli

More Information

A. Thomas Look, MD, awarded 2021 Society of Memorial Sloan Kettering Prize recipient for contributions in pediatric oncology


A. Thomas Look, MD, of Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, has been awarded the 2021 Society of Memorial Sloan Kettering Prize. The award was presented to Look at the Gerstner Sloan Kettering (GSK) virtual convocation on May 19, 2021.

A. Thomas Look, MD

The Society Prize is a global prize that is awarded annually to a researcher, physician, or team leader who has made a positive and lasting impact in the fight against pediatric cancer. Founded in 1946, The Society of Memorial Sloan Kettering is a volunteer-led organization within MSK dedicated to promoting the well-being of patients, supporting cancer research, and providing education on the early prevention, detection, and treatment of cancer.

“I am very honored to be recognized as the recipient of The Society Prize,” said Look. “Some of the best satisfaction in the world is knowing that your work has contributed to helping others. My hope is that we can continue to find ways to control and cure childhood cancers.”

“The Society of Memorial Sloan Kettering Prize recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to improving the understanding, diagnosis, and/or treatment of childhood cancer,” said Andrew Kung, MD, PhD, Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at MSK Kids. “Dr. Look has made significant advances over the years that have improved the way we treat children with leukemia and neuroblastoma. He is a giant in the field of pediatric oncology, and it is my distinct honor to announce that he is the recipient of this important prize.”

Look received his medical degree in 1975 and did his residency training in pediatrics at the University of Michigan. He completed a fellowship in pediatric oncology at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, where he trained in the molecular biology of cancer and eventually became chair of the Experimental Oncology Department. In 1999, he joined Dana-Farber as Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Pediatric Oncology.

Previous honorees of The Society Prize include Richard J. O’Reilly (MSK), James Downing (St. Jude), Melvyn Greaves (Institute for Cancer Research, UK), Kevin Shannon (UCSF), Michel Sadelain (MSK), and Carl June (UPENN).